2020 Celebrating Excellence Award Winners

2020 Award Winners:

Operator of the Year

Matt Johnson, Barley’s Bar, Council Bluffs

Chef of the Year

Chef Jeremy Moskowitz, Duck City Bistro, Davenport

Emerging Hospitality Leader of the Year

Katy Nelson, Scenic Route Bakery, Des Moines

Hospitality Employee of the Year

David Basinger, Rodina, Cedar Rapids

American Dream Award

Suman Hoque, HoQ, Des Moines

Faces of Diversity Award

Lorena Alomia, Delicias by Lorena, Des Moines

Purveyor Partner of the Year

Justin Woodard, Sysco Iowa, Ankeny

Industry Champion

Ryan Achterhoff, Pizza Ranch, Orange City

ProStart Educator of Excellence

LaRae Arment, Alburnett High School, Alburnett

Restaurant Neighbor Philanthropy Award

Nick Kuhn, The Hall DSM, West Des Moines

Legislator of the Year

Senator Craig Johnson, Senate District 32, Independence

Mentor of the Year

Aaron Broshar, Blue Barn BBQ, Cedar Falls

New this year is a Rural Operator of the Year Award which was created to recognize the role and importance of restaurants and taverns in Iowa communities with fewer than 5,000 people. The inaugural recipient of this award is Mike Muller of Grace on Main in Elk Horn (population 610).