Industry News
, IRA Press Information
, Press Release
December 28, 2018

Linda Funk of The Soyfoods Council Receives State Food Industry Award

December 28, 2018
Des Moines, IA- Oct 11 – On Monday October 8th, Linda Funk, Executive Director for The Soyfoods Council, was awarded the 2018 Purveyor of the Year Award by the Iowa Restaurant Association. Funk was presented the award at a ceremony in Des Moines by the Incoming Chairman of the National Restaurant Association Board of Directors Joe Essa of Wolfgang Puck Worldwide and the Current Chairman of the Iowa Restaurant Association Board of Directors Darin Beck of Barmuda Companies. Funk was chosen by the Iowa Restaurant Association Board of Directors for her commitment to Iowa’s food industry.  The selection committee pointed to her dedication to helping chefs and restaurant professionals better understand the role soy products can play on menus and in commercial kitchens as a key reason for her selection.  Funk has been instrumental in establishing collaborative culinary competitions, soy oil seminars and other educational opportunities to help professional chefs and culinary students better understand soy. Of special note are: the annual Professional Chefs Soy Salad Dressing Competition featuring soft-silken tofu; a beef entrée with soy side culinary competition co-sponsored with the Iowa Beef Industry Council and Iowa Restaurant Association; and a series of high-oleic oil educational seminars presented across the state. “Lind Funk has been one of the most influential and effective partners the Iowa Restaurant Association has ever worked with,” said Jessica Dunker, president and CEO of the Iowa Restaurant Association. “She has truly helped open the eyes of professional and aspiring chefs to the possibilities of plant proteins on menus, as well as the advantages of high-oleic oils in commercial fryers.” A video showcasing Funk can be found at Iowa Restaurant Association The Iowa Restaurant Association is an advocacy organization supporting Iowa’s restaurant and bar industry with educational and promotional programs across the state. Media Contact: Josephine Jensen Public Relations Specialist 319-464-0766

There are 0 comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *